RSS Feed

My Dream Girls

Posted on

For several years now, I’ve wanted to get some chickens. Just a few, that can roam around the yard, lay a few eggs. These are the breeds I’d like to get:

Barred Rock

Buff Orpington

And of course, my girls would need a fashionable place to stay –

homesteadrevival.blogspot.com

Now, if only I knew someone who could build it for me . . . hmmmmmm.

About sharon

I'm a mom, a wife, a sister and a daughter. I have three 20-something boys, a full-time job, and a dream building project on the Oregon Coast.

5 responses »

  1. Love that you are doing a blog!! We’ve had both barred rocks and buffs- the buffs are by far the kinder bird- much more cuddly šŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. I share this dream with you Aunt Sharon šŸ™‚ Are these breeds very broody?

    Reply
    • I think the Buff’s can tend to be broody, but my friend says they’re also cuddly. These two breeds are supposed to be good for our area – hardy.

      Reply
      • My friend just told me about lavender orpingtons. They are beautiful! Apparently the buffs are the common ones and the other colors are rare, but a woman in Washington has been working on breeding the lavender ones. Google it, I think you will like them!

  3. Thx Joani – I did, and they’re spectacular!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

